Basic 6 Hour Defensive Driving Course

6 Hour Defensive Driving Course

The basic 6 hour defensive driving course is the program that you will complete if this is your first time attending a defensive driving course in Delaware. The course is Approved by the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles and meets all state and court requirements. To complete this program, you will simply Enroll in the course, complete it at your own pace, and submit your Completion Certificate to the correct parties. We will submit proof of your completion to the Delaware DMV, while you will be required to inform your insurance provider or court if you are taking the course for court purposes.

Completion of our Delaware 6 hour defensive driving course will grant you the following benefits:

  1. A mandatory 10% auto insurance discount for three years
  2. A three point credit on your driving record for three years
  3. The knowledge required to become a safer, more confident driver

This program is a Fast and Easy way to save money on your auto insurance for three years. If you take our 3 Hour Refresher Course after three years, you will continue your point credit and increase your discount to 15% for another three years. You will be able to continue repeating the refresher course every three years for continuous savings!

During our online basic 6 hour defensive driving course, you will learn everything you need to know to become a better, safer driver. These lessons are enhanced with images and animations to help engage and entertain you. Some of the topics covered in this course include:

  • Driving Emergencies
  • Driver Distractions
  • Traffic Collisions and Insurance
  • Defensive Driving Techniques
  • Collision Prevention
  • Safe Passing Techniques
  • Safety Equipment
  • Alcohol and Drug Use: The Law
  • Alcohol and Drug Use: DUI Prevention
  • Driver Attitude and Behavior
  • The Delaware Driver License
  • Traffic Laws In The State Of Delaware
  • Lanes Of The Road
  • Traffic Signs and Control Lights

The entire Delaware 6 hour defensive driving course is available online and works around your schedule. You’ll get to complete everything from the comfort of your own home and you’ll enjoy the freedom to work at your own pace. We even offer Coupons to help you save on our Course Price.

If you are ready to save money on auto insurance, receive a three point credit on your Delaware driving record, and learn to drive more safely, Enroll Now!

Register Now

If you have already completed the 6 hour defensive driving course and are looking to extend your discount, you will need our 3 Hour Refresher Course.

If you have been ordered to complete a behavioral modification/attitudinal-driving course, you will need our Aggressive Driving Course.

Delaware DMV Approved

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Are you approved to offer this program in Delaware?

    Yes. We are Approved by the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles to offer our Basic and Refresher programs. For our Aggressive Driving course, we are approved by the Secretary of Transportation. We meet all state, court and DMV requirements to ensure you receive the proper credit.

  • How do I receive an auto insurance reduction and a 3 point DMV credit?

    When you successfully complete our basic or refresher course, you will simply need to present your Completion Certificate to your auto insurance provider. Your insurance agent will then be responsible for applying your mandatory discount to your premium.
    Additionally, upon completion of either of our programs, we will automatically notify the Delaware DMV and they will take care of granting your three point driving record credit.

  • How long does the online course take to complete?

    Our online courses are designed to be self-paced and provide a comprehensive review of proper defensive driving techniques, DMV laws and licensing procedures, impaired driving issues, and the rules of the road. The Basic Course has 14 chapters for a total of 6 hours of required instruction. The Refresher Course has 10 chapters for a total of 3 hours of required instruction. The Aggressive Driving course has 15 chapters for a total of 8 hours of required instruction. Chapters are timed to ensure that you have enough time to learn all of the information and to meet Delaware state law requirements. Our programs work around your busy schedule, so you can learn when it's convenient for you.

  •

Stay Connected

Latest Blog

National Women's History Month: Road Warriors Mar 23

March is National Women's History Month and we've spent the month celebrating some remarkable women ... Read More